St. Michael’s Golden-Domed Monastery (Mykhaylivskyi zolotoverkhyi monastyr) is a functioning monastery in Kyiv. The monastery is locatedopposite of the St. Sophia Cathedral. The site is located in the historic and administrative Uppertown and near the city’s historical commercial and merchant quarter Podil. The exterior of the monastery was rebuilt in the Ukrainian Baroque style in the 18th century while the interior remained in its original Byzantine style. The cathedral was demolished by the Soviet authorities in the 1930s, but was reconstructed after Ukraine gained its independence in 2000.
The monastery was founded in 1108 by Kyiv Prince Svyatopolk and named in honour of Arhistratig Saint Michael. As the main church of the monastery was designed very luxuriously and its domes were generously gilded, people called it Golden Domed.
This monument is placed on the Mykhaylivska Square just near the Archangel Michael Gold-Domed Monastery. There is a tall figure of princess Olga, first known female ruler of country, with educators St. Cyril and St. Methodius at her right hand and the apostle St. Andrew at her left one.
Prepared by Anna Dmitrenko, a local tour guide in Kiev.