Olesko Castle is an outstanding architectural and historic monument from the 13th – 18th centuries, once a strong fortress of old Rus in the 14th century.
Later in the 15th – 16th century Olesko Castle was turned into a palace for aristocracy and remodeled in the Italian Renaissance style in the 1620s. The famous Polish king Jan III Sobieski was born there in 1629. The king often lived in Olesko Castle and collected numerous art works.
Afterwards the castle belonged to the Rzewuski family. After restoration in 1965-1975 Olesko Castle became a museum. Hundreds of unique paintings, sculptures and applied arts can be seen in the museum. Among them are icons, portraits, still-lives, the monumental picture of the Battle of Vienna, old furniture and wooden sculptures.
In the Olesko Castle basement there is a well which also served as an escape passage for the besieged.
A nice park with some modern sculptures surrounds Olesko Castle.