The Mgar Orthodox monastery was founded in 1619 by Princess Raina Mogylyanka Vyshnevetska, the cousin of famous Petro Mogyla, the founder of most ancient Eastern Slavic University in Kyiv (Kiev). Raina Vyshnevetska was the land-lady of huge territories near Lubny in Eastern Ukraine, which then was part of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. The monastery belonged to Moscow Orthodox Church.
The altar of St Athanasius Constantinopolitan, Thamaturge and Healer, buried in Mgar Savior’s Transfiguration monastery near Lubny in Eastern Ukraine. St Athanasius was born in 1597 on the island Crete and died in Mgar Monastery in Eastern Ukraine on 5 April 1654 on his way from Moscow to Constantinople. Monks of the Mgar monastery inherited from St Afanasy traditions of phytotherapy and healing.