While Christianity suffered much at the hands of the Soviet, including the destruction of many churches and the martyrdom of countless Christians, belief was not eradicated nor were all historical reminders of a thousand-years of Orthodox christianity destroyed. A sampling of the remaining churches is offered here as a visible testimony to the Faith that has for so long been a part of the people of this land. More than two-dozen churches were selected for presentation in varying degrees of detail.
Shevchenkyvskyy Rayon is the oldest part of Kyiv, where situated the following churches of interest:
Church of the Dormition (aka Desiatynna or Tithe Church) foundations. Built 989-996 by St. Vladimir (Volodymyr) the Great in commemoration of the Baptism of the Rus (988).
St. Sophia Cathedral. Built 1017-1026 by St. Yaroslav the Wise, Vladimir’s son. Includes a large selection of 11th century frescos and mosaics!
Church of the Annunciation. A reconstruction of the Golden Gate church built on the ruins of what was originally built by St. Yaroslav the Wise in the early 11th century.
St. Michael’s Church of St. Michael’s Gold-Domed Monastery. A reconstruction (1997-2000) built on the ruins of a very early 12th century church built by Sviatopolk, the son of Isyaslav (who had founded the monastery), who in turn was St. Yaroslav’s son. A few 12th century frescos and mosaics have been rescued (the church was blown up by the Soviet in the 1930s).
St. John the Theologian Church. Part of St. Michael’s Monastery. 1713.
St. Andrew’s Church. A baroque church built beginning in 1744 that stands on the traditional site where St. Andrew the First Called gave a prophecy concerning the future city of Kyiv.
St. Vladimir’s Cathedral. A Byzantium-style church built 1862-1882 (decorations completed by and consecration in 1896).
Kyiv Pechersk Lavra, the oldest Orthodox monastery of the Rus. Founded 1051 by the monk Anthony of Lubeck, who took his vows on Mount Athos.
Far Caves. Where St. Anthony first settled in 1051.
Near Caves. Where St. Athony moved in 1062 after the Far Caves grew too large for his desired degree of hermetical life.
Draw wells. One dug by St. Anthony and one by St. Theodosius. 11th century.
Church of our Saviour at Berestove. End of the 11th century.
Trinity Church over the Holy Gates (the main gates of the Lavra). Built 1106-1108 by Chernigov Prince Sviatoslav who became a Perchersk monk known under the name Nicholas the Saintly.
Dormition Cathedral. Originally constructed 1073-1089. Rebuilt 1998-2000 (almost completely destroyed in 1943).
St. Nicholas Church. 17th century.
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin. 1696.
Church of the Conception of St. Anne. 1679.
Church of All Saints over the Economic Gate.1696-1698.
Church of the Exaltation of the Cross. 1700-1704.
Church of St. Anthony and St. Theodosius. 1893-1895.
Great Bell Tower. Built 1731-1745.
Church of the Life Giving Well. 1913.
Museum of Folk Architecture and Rural Life in Pyrogovo. An open air museum where over 200 structures were relocated by the Soviets between 1969 and 1976, including four wooden churches.
St. Michael’s Church. 1601.
St. Nicholas Church and bell tower. Beginning of 18th century.
St. Paraskeve Church. 1742.
Intercession Church. 1792.
Museum of the History of Ukrainian Folk Architecture in Pereyaslav-Khmelnytskyy. Another open air museum with four wooden churches.
1st tripartate church and bell tower, 17th century.
2nd tripartate church.
Cruciform church. 19th century.
3rd tripartate church.